Texas Audi Group Forums  

Go Back   Texas Audi Group Forums > The Gas Station > Tech & Tuning Questions
Register Today's Posts Members List Photo Gallery 2010 State Meet Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 3rd, 2016, 10:19 AM
Aghee Aghee is offline
New to the 4 Rings
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Fairview, TX
Posts: 4
Default S6 (03) dynamic headlight range control warning light

Hi Guys,
So for starters I did search through this forum and many others which enabled me to do a bit of diagnosis, but I still have questions I am hoping someone here can answer.
The story: I removed my headlights (xenon) to refinish/clearcoat the lenses. The refinishing went very well. I reinstalled everything and now I get the warning light for DHRC. Headlights turn on fine, but clearly they are not self adjusting. High beams and fog lights also work as they should. I checked the front and rear level sensors and nothing is broken or loose. I checked the two wire plugs that go into the back of the headlights and they appear to be on tightly. I have not checked the control unit behind the glove box and I unfortunately do not have a vagcom tool to diagnose if this is the cause.
Question 1: I believe my wiring is connected correctly on the re-install, but now question is whether or not the two wire plugs are connected upside down. Does anyone know offhand which wire color is supposed to be on top for drivers (white or black) and passenger (tan or brown) side headlights. There is a groove guide in the plug, but there is no corresponding slide in the connector. There for I think I can run the plug either way. I have not tried this for fear of frying everything. If possible, can someone check their car? It would be much appreciated.
Question 2: If the wires in number 1 are connected correctly, would you next just pay the $160 for the dealer to diagnose, or is there a most common culprit like the control unit which I can get for $40.
If there is something else I can check please let me know. And if anyone wants to help with a Vagcom, I am north east of Dallas.

Also, I cross posted this on a couple of other forums. If someone has a rosstech/vagcom and wants to help, I am willing to make a donation for the effort.

Thanks,
John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 6th, 2016, 11:13 AM
Turb_Oh_A4's Avatar
Turb_Oh_A4 Turb_Oh_A4 is offline
Mr. GoodWood
4 Gold Rings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 4,625
Default

Send me a Pm with your vin and I'll pull up a wiring Diagram. It most likely has the error because you unplugged them, was the key on at any point with them out?
__________________
"Mr._Goodwood."
It's the color of my
2002 A4 1.8T 5-speed
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 11th, 2016, 10:02 AM
S6Sputnik's Avatar
S6Sputnik S6Sputnik is offline
Administrator
4 Gold Rings
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Austin River Place
Posts: 11,991
Send a message via AIM to S6Sputnik
Default

I have a ballast for one of those should you ever need it! Driverside
__________________
Shawn Austin TX ACNA#1616
//95 S6 RS2//13 A6 3.0T//12 S4 3.0T
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.